Qualifying round

Group A

Belarus Belarus00000000
Bulgaria Bulgaria00000000
France France00000000
Luxembourg Luxembourg00000000
Netherlands Netherlands00000000
Sweden Sweden00000000

Group B

Andorra Andorra00000000
Faroe Islands Faroe Islands00000000
Hungary Hungary00000000
Latvia Latvia00000000
Portugal Portugal00000000
Switzerland Switzerland00000000

Group C

Azerbaijan Azerbaijan00000000
Czech Republic Czech Republic00000000
Germany Germany00000000
Northern Ireland Northern Ireland00000000
Norway Norway00000000
San Marino San Marino00000000

Group D

Austria Austria00000000
Georgia Georgia00000000
Moldova Moldova00000000
Republic of Ireland Republic of Ireland00000000
Serbia Serbia00000000
Wales Wales00000000

Group E

Armenia Armenia00000000
Denmark Denmark00000000
Kazakhstan Kazakhstan00000000
Montenegro Montenegro00000000
Poland Poland00000000
Romania Romania00000000

Group F

England England00000000
Lithuania Lithuania00000000
Malta Malta00000000
Scotland Scotland00000000
Slovakia Slovakia00000000
Slovenia Slovenia00000000

Group G

Albania Albania00000000
FYR Macedonia FYR Macedonia00000000
Israel Israel00000000
Italy Italy00000000
Liechtenstein Liechtenstein00000000
Spain Spain00000000

Group H

Belgium Belgium00000000
Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina00000000
Cyprus Cyprus00000000
Estonia Estonia00000000
Gibraltar Gibraltar00000000
Greece Greece00000000

Group I

Croatia Croatia00000000
Finland Finland00000000
Iceland Iceland00000000
country_kos Kosovo00000000
Turkey Turkey00000000
Ukraine Ukraine00000000


P: Played   
W: Won   
D: Drawn   
L: Lost   
F: For   
A: Against   
+/-: Goal difference   
Last updated: 29/08/2016 15:12 CET

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2018 FIFA World Cup consists of a group stage and a play-off round, providing 13 UEFA member nations for the 32-team final tournament in Russia (who qualify as by right).

Qualifying group stage
Matches take place between 4 September 2016 and 10 October 2017 with seven groups of six teams and two of five. The nine group winners qualify directly for the finals and the eight runners-up with the best record against the teams finishing first, third, fourth and fifth in their section go into the play-offs.

The eight teams are drawn into four pairings for two-legged ties played from 9 abnd 14 November 2017. If scores are level after the second leg the team with the most away goals qualified, whether after 90 minutes or extra time. The four winners qualify for the finals.

Final tournament
The allocation for other confederations is: Asian Football Confederation (AFC) 4.5, Confederation of African Football (CAF) 5.0, Confederation of North, Central American and Caribbean Association Football (CONCACAF) 3.5, South American Football Confederation (CONMEBOL) 4.5, Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) 0.5, and one slot for the hosts Russia. The teams are drawn into eight groups of four with the top two going into the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the
official competition regulations.