The official website for European football

2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: France

The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be held in France from 7 June to 7 July.
2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: France
Stade de Lyon will stage the opening game and the final empty provider

2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals: France

The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be held in France from 7 June to 7 July.

The 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup finals will be held in France from 7 June to 7 July of that year. There will be 24 finalists including eight European qualifiers alongside the hosts.

Road to France: calendar
Preliminary round draw: 13:30CET, 19 January 2017, Nyon
Preliminary round: 6–11 April 2017
Qualifying group stage draw: 25 April 2017, Nyon
Qualifying group stage: 11 September 2017–4 September 2018
Play-off draw: tbc September 2018, Nyon
Play-off semi-finals: 1–9 October 2018
Play-off final: 5–13 November 2018
Finals draw: late 2018, France
Finals: 7 June–7 July 2019, France

Continental allocations for final tournament
Africa (CAF): 3
Asia (AFC): 5
Europe (UEFA): 8 plus hosts France
North/Central America (CONCACAF): 3 plus 1 to play-off v CONMEBOL third place
Oceania (OFC): 1
South America (CONMEBOL): 2 plus 1 to play-off v CONCACAF fourth place

Past World Cup finals (European teams in bold)
2015: United States 5-2 Japan; Vancouver, Canada
2011: Japan 2-2 United States (aet, 3-1 pens); Frankfurt, Germany
2007: Germany 2-0 Brazil; Shanghai, China
2003: Germany 1-0 Sweden (aet, golden goal); Carson, United States
1999: United States 0-0 China (aet, 5-4 pens); Pasadena, United States
1995: Norway 2-0 Germany; Stockholm, Sweden
1991: United States 2-1 Norway; Guangzhou, China

Past Olympic medallists (European teams in bold)
2016: Germany (gold), Sweden (silver), Canada (bronze); Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
2012: United States (gold), Japan (silver), Canada (bronze); London, United Kingdom
2008: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Beijing, China
2004: United States (gold), Brazil (silver), Germany (bronze); Athens, Greece
2000: Norway (gold), United States (silver), Germany (bronze); Sydney, Australia
1996: United States (gold), China (silver), Norway (bronze); Atlanta, United States

Road to the final

European qualifying for the 2019 FIFA Women's World Cup comprises two group stages and a play-off round. France qualifying automatically as hosts.

Preliminary round
The 16 lower-ranked nations are drawn into two four-team mini-tournaments played from 6 to 11 April 2017. Each mini-tournament is staged by one of the countries and each team plays one another once with the group winners and the runner-up with the best record against the sides first and third in their section progressing.

Group stage
Those five teams join the remaining 30 entrants in seven groups of five nations drawn on 25 April 2017 and played from 11 September 2017 to 4 September 2018 on a home-and-away basis. The seven group winners qualify for the finals. The four runners-up with the best record against the sides first, third and fourth in their groups go into the play-offs for the remaining UEFA berths in France.

The four contenders are drawn into two ties played over two legs in October 2018. The two winners then meet in November 2018 to decide the final qualifiers.

Twenty-four teams, including France the other eight European qualifiers, will compete in the finals in the summer of 2019. There will be six groups of four teams with the top two plus the four best third-placed teams progressing to the knockout phase.

Further details, including the criteria for separating teams that finish level on points in a group, or after extra time in a match, can be found in the official competition regulations.